May The Fifth by Aaron Ng

Standard

May the Fifth

By Aaron Ng

I flipped through the pages mindlessly.

Piaget, development theories, experimental studies

What did they all mean?

Who cares,

The year just started,

Don’t flip the page.

 

Months passed on,

And trick or treat echoed throughout the night,

Every doorbell ringing in my ears.

What is the method of loci, psychoanalysis, and the James-Lange Theory?

Who cares,

It’s a holiday today,

Don’t flip the page.

 

Months passed on,

And jingle bells were instantly replaced by countdowns,

Happy new year!

Who were Skinner, William James, and Ainsworth?

Who cares,

It’s a time for celebrations,

Don’t flip the page.

 

Months passed on,

And people were piling into church on a Friday,

Good Friday.

What are cognitive dissonance, the false-consensus effect, and neurons?

One month remained,

I had to care,

I had to flip the page.

 

Weeks passed on,

And I was still flipping through the pages.

Why had I not started earlier?

Stop crying and wasting time,

I really had to care,

I had to flip the page.

 

Hours passed on,

And it was finally time.

The door clicked behind me as I sat down,

I really had to care,

I had to flip the page one last time.

students-in-exam-007

Leave a Reply

